Civil Service Commission


This commission meets on an as needed basis.


This commission consists of three members that are citizens of Iowa and Marshalltown and are eligible electors.  Terms are four-years.  Civil Service Commissioners are required to have no financial relationships with the City of Marshalltown unless awarded by competitive bid.


  • Chris Bennett
  • Nancy Harris
  • Paul Peglow
  • Gregg Davison (Ex-officio)

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to meeting. Minutes are available following approval.

Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


In the State of Iowa, all cities with populations greater than 8,000 are required to have a Civil Service Commission.  The Commission approves hiring and promotional processes and ultimately a hiring or promotional list which is then received by the City Council.  The Civil Service Commission also hears appeals of disciplinary actions of civil service employees and functions as a judicial body for this review.