Like many of you, we are following the horrific story in Norwalk.
We need to remind everyone about Iowa's Safe Haven Act. The Safe Haven Act is an Iowa law that allows parents – or another person who has the parent's authorization – to leave an infant up to 90 days old at a hospital or healthcare facility without fear of arrest or going to court. A parent may also contact 911 and relinquish physical custody of an infant up to 90 days old to a first responder of the 911 call. More than 50 children have been declared safe havens since the Iowa law was enacted in 2002. The law provides immunity from prosecution for abandonment for a parent - or a person acting with the parent's authorization - who leaves an infant at a hospital or health care facility.
What happened in Norwalk does not need to happen. There are options.
More information about Iowa Safe Haven can be found here:
AUTHORITY: Michael W. Tupper, Chief of Police (email@example.com or 641.754.5771)