News Flash Home
The original item was published from 12/1/2021 11:00:51 AM to 12/15/2021 12:00:01 AM.

News Flash

Home - City Spotlight

Posted on: November 29, 2021

[ARCHIVED] Board & Commission Members to Be Recognized for Years of Service

Vision Marshalltown cmyk Vert

The City of Marshalltown has many appointed board and commission members who serve on a variety of boards and commissions which make recommendations to City Council, hear appeals from the enforcement of orders and help plan for the future growth of the community.  For those reaching a milestone year of service in 2021, a special ceremony will be held on Monday, December 13th, at 4:30pm in City Council Chambers at 10 West State Street.  Board and commission members are asked to stay for the City Council meeting at 5:30pm to be recognized again at the beginning of the meeting.

Those board and commission members achieving a milestone year of service in 2021 are as follows:

5 Years of Service

Chris Brodin- Housing Appeals Board

Tina Eubanks- Housing Appeals Board

Kurt Lynch- Housing Appeals Board

Gary McKibbin- Investment Committee

Judith Lindholm- Library Board of Trustees


15 Years of Service

David Schulze- Board of Adjustment


25 Years of Service

Beverly Espenscheid- Housing Appeals Board


In addition, we would also like to recognize those who have served on two different boards which were eliminated in 2021.  Pastor Gregg Davison served on the Human Rights Commission for many years and was the contact for human rights complaints in Marshalltown.  His role as Chair of the Human Rights Commission also had a place on the Civil Service Commission. 

The Fisher Community Center Board of Trustees was also dissolved this year.  Board members still serving included Paul Gregoire, Carol Hibbs, Michael Mason, David Clark, and Cynthia Ragland.

In addition to 2021 milestone years of service, the City of Marshalltown will also be recognizing those who were to be recognized in 2020 with a public ceremony, but were not due to COVID-19.  Those 2020 volunteer board and commission members are as follows:

5 Years of Service

John Mahlstede

Kelli Thurston

Matt Tullis


15 Years of Service

Mike Gowdy

Merrill Price

Jerry Young


20 Years of Service

Karen Shipley-Cooper

Mary Stevens

Allan Thoreson


40 Years of Service

Jon Boston

The City of Marshalltown will seek new board and commission members from time-to-time as vacancies occur.  Please sign up for notifications on to be notified as vacancies occur.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Home - City Spotlight

Notify Me

Notify Me

Posted on: September 22, 2023